Lemongrass Thai-Halal Restaurant (Canoga Park, CA)

Thai

This was an unexpected trip to this little Mom and Pop type of eatery. We had originally planned on a different Thai restaurant just around the corner from Lemongrass, but they were closed (for New Year’s, I’m guessing).

And how did we find this little quaint place? Duh… Yelp, of course! 🙂

As usual, I just scanned through the images and it looked decent. So, we made our way over.

What’s neat about Lemongrass is that they not only serve Lunch Specials but they have Dinner Specials, too! And I am totally a sucker for Specials of all sorts! 🙂 Naturally, Eli and I both ordered from that menu–which consisted of the typical Thai Specials dishes (ie curry, pad thai, pad prik king, etc).

Neither of us were that hungry and wanted something light–Specials in this type of environment are usually smaller in portion, so it was practically screaming our names, haha!

As with all Specials (I’ve used this word too many types in a short amount of time, not cool), our dishes came with soup, rice, and an egg roll.

The pre-main course soup…

Dinner Special Soup

Pretty basic–some cabbage, carrots, and… that’s all, haha! Even though it was pretty plain, it tasted decent since the broth was just right (not too salty and not too bland). And thank goodness for that because we had just come in from the chilly weather and I was really looking forward to having me some soup to warm up my insides 🙂

My entree…

Chicken Red Curry

As usual, I asked for it to be made extra spicy but rarely does it ever come out that way… this is where the chilis in fish sauce comes in! 🙂 The curry itself was a tad on the blander side and a bit sweeter than I prefer; so, overall, it was just okay for me. But (!!) the portion was perfect! Both our dishes came with egg rolls… I’ve had better, slightly mushy on the inside.

Eli’s din-din…

Beef Pad Gra Pow

Since I don’t consume beef, I didn’t try the meat, just had some of the dressings that it was stir-fried with–I liked the combination of flavoring… much better than I had expected, especially after having my dish. Eli reports that it was good except it was spicy for him (in case you don’t already know, spicy is no bueno for him)–he still ate about 85% of it, though. He left some of the dressing behind and that’s where I had a taste and decided to eat the remainder since it was so flavorful, hehe!

CONCLUSION

I’d definitely go back again! Prices are a little lower than the average and the food is good and enjoyable. Plus, I like how the portions are smaller because I have a bad habit of eating everything on my plate. So, in this circumstance, I can clear my plate and not feel guilty or too full afterward! 😀

Subscribe to Crystal & Eli Eats by Email

Leave a Reply

