Anejo Cantina & Grill (Sherman Oaks, CA)

happy hour, Mexican

IMG_5388IMG_5389

If one is familiar with the Sherman Oaks area on Ventura, you might have seen this place. Though we don’t live in the area, we drive by this area numerous times and have never seen this place! It’s only been open since October 2015–in all this time, I would think I would have at least noticed it! Maybe because it’s on the 2nd floor of the shopping center? Who knows… oh, well…

Walking up the steps to this place, I was excited. To the left of the entrance is an outdoor patio seating area–looked chill/relaxing. I now had high hopes.

Went to meet some people for happy hour–gotta love that! 😀 When we stepped inside, decor wasn’t disappointing at all! Ambiance was classy and casual. Service was attentive–maybe a little too attentive, haha–food runners and couple servers tried to take my partially eaten tostada away thinking that I might have been done.

As mentioned, we had a tostada, but I forgot to take a pic of it :*( Eli and I had shared the tostada since we weren’t too hungry and didn’t want to go overboard on the eating since we have the tendency to clear our plates (even though we may be full 1/2 way through the dish) 0_O The dish was okay, nothing special or out of the norm from a tostada anywhere else. The price was great though since it was on the happy hour menu. I added a bunch of their salsa and mixed it all up–made it a bit more tasty.

IMG_5391

As with most happy hours, can’t go to one w/ one ordering an alcoholic bev ;P Considering they were only $3 or $4, it wasn’t too bad. We both had 2. The non-happy hour pricing wouldn’t be worth it to us. Found out from our lovely server (from England) that the HH margaritas are pre-made. So, don’t know if it would have tasted any different if it were individually made. One of the people from our table did end up ordering a margarita after HH ended–it looked the same :/

IMG_5393

Before the first bite, I wasn’t expecting the salsa to be that good… and I don’t know why, but with most Mexican places we’re visiting lately, I don’t have much expectation for their salsas 😦 This one tasted better than I thought–only because it was more of a chipotle type of salsa, I’m not too fond of chipotle in salsa. It was definitely good enough for me to pig out on, though–chips and salsa, one of my weaknesses o_O

IMG_5392

We didn’t have this sangria, another person in our party did. I didn’t taste it, the person who ordered it said it tasted okay. The presentation is okay–flower makes it look like they wanted to add something but didn’t really know what, haha!

CONCLUSION – We’d definitely come back here for happy hour and try other items on the menu–I was eyeing the ceviche 😀 Probably wouldn’t order the margarita again. And most likely wouldn’t come here unless it was for happy hour (going by our HH experience). It’s definitely a place to check out but don’t expect anything too phenomenal.

Leave a Reply

